IPL 2024 Purple Cap: Updated After SRH vs PBKS and RR vs KKR Match

The final doubleheader of IPL 2024 saw four teams competing for the last time in the league. Punjab Kings played against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, while Kolkata Knight Riders faced Rajasthan Royals at Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati. The bowlers showcased impressive performances in both matches, influencing the Purple Cap standings.

IPL 2024 Purple Cap:

Remarkable Performances by PBKS and SRH Bowlers:

The first match of the IPL 2024 doubleheader featured Sunrisers Hyderabad versus Punjab Kings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. Both teams’ bowlers performed well in the match. Hyderabad’s bowlers, including T Natarajan, Pat Cummins, and Vijaykanth Viyaskanth, took multiple wickets during the match.

Punjab Kings bowlers made a good effort while defending 214 runs. Arshdeep Singh started well by getting Travis Head out on the first ball of the second innings. Harshal Patel also took a crucial wicket by dismissing Rahul Tripathi. Abhishek Sharma was looking set but was dismissed by Shashank Singh. Arshdeep Singh finished with 2 wickets for 37 runs, while Harshal Patel took 2 wickets for 49 runs. Harpreet Brar and Shashank Singh each took 1 wicket. Despite their efforts, Sunrisers Hyderabad managed to win the game by 4 wickets.

The Heartbreak Continues Because of the Rain: 

RR vs KKR Match Rain Break

In the second match at Barsapara Stadium, Rajasthan Royals were scheduled to play Kolkata Knight Riders. The toss happened, and the Kolkata Knight Riders chose to bowl first. However, rain interrupted the game. Despite officials waiting, the match was eventually abandoned without any play. Both teams were left disappointed as their final group stage game was washed out by the rain.

The Purple Cap Race:

Player’s NameTeamMatchWickets  BBI  Average  Economy Rate
Harshal Patel  PBKS  14   243/15    19.88  9.73
Jasprit Bumrah  MI  13  205/21  16.8  6.48
Arshdeep SinghPBKS  14  194/2926.58  10.03
Varun ChakravarthyKKR  13  183/16  20.39  8.34
Tushar Deshpande  CSK  13  174/27  24.94  8.83
Yuzvendra Chahal  RR  13173/11  27.59  9.38
Khaleel Ahmed  DC  14  172/21  28.189.58
Mukesh Kumar  DC10  173/14  21.6510.37
Kuldeep Yadav  DC16  114/5523.258.65

Read Also: Fraser-McGurk Fine with Missing T20 WC, Confident in Future