IND vs AFG T20s: Insight into Rohit Sharma's T20 Leadership Debut

In a highly awaited move, Rohit Sharma is set to assume leadership in T20 internationals for the first time since the heart-wrenching T20 World Cup 2022 semi-final defeat against England. The imminent three-match series against Afghanistan, commencing on January 11, 2024, stands as India’s sole preparatory platform before the T20 World Cup later in the year.

IND vs AFG T20s Key Highlights

1. A Historic Bilateral Series

This series not only signifies the initiation of a bilateral T20 series between India and Afghanistan but also holds profound importance as both teams fine-tune their strategies ahead of the T20 World Cup. Although the two sides have met in five T20 internationals before, this series sets a new benchmark in their cricketing encounters.

2. Tactical Insights: Kohli vs. Sharma

Beyond the pursuit of victory, the series offers a unique stage for Virat Kohli to scrutinize and refine his approach. In stark contrast to Kohli’s traditional slow starts, Rohit Sharma, as evident in the ODI World Cup, champions an aggressive cricketing style. Kohli’s opportunity to construct a swift template gains significance in the lead-up to the IPL and T20 World Cup.

3. Squad Dynamics and Key Players

The narrative delves into the intricacies of selecting wicket-keepers, with Sanju Samson emerging as the likely choice, bolstered by his recent century against South Africa. Rinku Singh, who made a striking debut in July 2023, seizes another chance to solidify his position. The piece also unravels insights into Afghanistan’s T20 performance post the 2022 World Cup.

India Squad for Afghanistan T20s

  • Rohit Sharma (C)
  • S Gill
  • Y Jaiswal
  • Virat Kohli
  • Tilak Varma
  • Rinku Singh
  • Jitesh Sharma (wk)
  • Sanju Samson (wk)
  • Shivam Dube
  • W Sundar
  • Axar Patel
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Avesh Khan
  • Mukesh Kumar

Afghanistan Squad for India T20s

  • Ibrahim Zadran (C)
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK)
  • Ikram Alikhil (WK)
  • Hazratullah Zazai
  • Rahmat Shah
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Karim Janat
  • Azmaullah Omarzai
  • Sharafuddin Ashraf
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  • Fazal Haq Farooqi
  • Fareed Ahmad
  • Naveen Ul Haq
  • Noor Ahmad
  • Mohammad Saleem
  • Qais Ahmad
  • Gulbadin Naib
  • Rashid Khan


As the global cricketing community eagerly anticipates this monumental series, it promises to be a defining moment for both teams. India’s strategic focus, player dynamics, and the transition of leadership with Rohit Sharma at the helm add an extra layer of excitement to the cricketing calendar.

Read Also: IND vs SA: Bavuma, Rabada Benched for white-ball series against India


Q1. Why is this series significant for Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli?

This series marks Rohit Sharma’s return as the T20 captain since the T20 World Cup 2022 semi-final loss. For Virat Kohli, it’s an opportunity to fine-tune his approach ahead of the IPL and T20 World Cup.

Q2. Who will be India’s wicket-keeper in the series?

While Jitesh Sharma and Sanju Samson are in the squad, the article suggests that Sanju Samson is likely to get the nod as the wicket-keeper batter.

Q3. How has Afghanistan performed in the T20s since the 2022 T20 World Cup?

Afghanistan had mixed results, losing all matches in the 2022 T20 World Cup but winning two three-match series against UAE and a series against a second-string Pakistan side.